How and What…

Hi friends! I have been working on some mixed media leather cuffs. I thought you might want to hear about it.

I have been tying knots into friendship bracelets since the mid 1990s. That is when embroidery floss became my friend. Untangling skeins of floss always seems to settle my thoughts and emotions.

When I began the journey of MickyAnn I remembered something one of my aunts said when gifted with a friendship bracelet for her birthday. “I’ll wear it till it gets dirty and stinky.” That comment got my hamsters to racing. How many people would wear a friendship bracelet if they could take them off? (Incase you are not familiar with friendship bracelets;  “Originally, these colorful bands were invented by Indians in Central and South America. According to tradition, you tie a bracelet onto the wrist of a friend who may wish for something at that moment. The bracelet should be worn until it’s totally worn-out and falls off by itself, at which moment the wish is supposed to come true.” http://friendship-bracelets.net/learn.php) How can I make them with a grown-up twist?

So I started by using a button for the closure. (It does take the “make a wish” element out of the friendship bracelet…but then again it allows the love and gift to last much longer.) Then I began adding charms. But I did not want to stop there, so I began twisting wire and making rings. I was already using the wire to make bird’s nest charms for necklaces I knew there was other projects I could use the wire for.

As I think about what I want to make and how I want it to look, I realize I want to do everything. I want to make all kinds of beautiful rings, necklaces, charms, pendants and bracelets. This brings us back to the mixed media cuff. I bought some leather scraps a while back with the idea of making a cuff bracelet. Then has I looked at my stock of materials I decided, “What would be better than leather, embroidery floss, metal charms and buttons?” Well, you let me know what you think.

Big Love,

Randi

Image

Author: createmickyann

MickyAnn has grown from a lifelong love of creating things with my hands. Which is turning into something new everyday. It's a journey…won't you join me?

Leave a Reply

