Things I’ve Learned…

Hi Friends! Thank you once again for stopping by.

I have been learning a lot since beginning this blog. So I thought I would share a few of those lessons with you. Learning is such an important part of any journey. I have learned over the years that if you do not learn the lesson the first time, it will likely come back to visit you to ensure that you caught on. I am trying to catch on a little quicker these days. In learning all of these lessons lately I am reminded of something my paternal grandfather used to say quite often, “If you don’t learn something new today, the day is lost.” Friends, here is what I have been learning over the last several days.

  1. Thicker gauge wire is not a bad thing. Ha Ha I began taking a jewelry class two weeks ago and had never purchased anything smaller than a 24       gauge or larger than a 20 gauge wire. I realize now that the vision I have in my brain space and the outcome I am going to get with wire I have been buying is not going to match. 14 gauge it is folks!
  2. Pewter charms as far I can tell cannot be altered from the state in which you purchase them at the store. That really great mixed media bracelet I shared with you all in my last post (http://wp.me/4hctG) is broken. I attempted to ever so slightly bend the flower charm with a rawhide mallet against a wooden stomp. Hitting ever so lightly in order to achieve a slight bend because there simply was not even give in the charm for the leather to lay quite right against the arm. So now the charm is in two pieces. Still looking for a way to alter pewter charms purchased at a craft stores…that is the second one broken since the journey began.
  3.  Hard hard wire is not easily bent. I have a sore index finger, hand pad and thumb to prove this. Other than the low cost I cannot really tell you what made me purchase hard hard wire but alas I did and I have spent the last two days bending an entire spool into would be rings. Hard Hard Wire is hard my friends.
  4. I am completely in love with bending, hammering, forging and designing jewelry. I have many skills I look forward to learning but I am completely in a peaceful love with my round nose pilers and a spool of wire.

Friends I cannot tell you where this journey will lead us. All I can say that for this moment I am content, peaceful and in love with my moment. Each day is different. Bedtime is challenging with my favorite little mini cave-girl. And there is far too often more month left over at the end of the money. However, I would not trade any of the journey I have taken to get to this moment for anything in this world. Stay adventurous and don’t lose your days friends.

Big Love,

Randi

Author: createmickyann

MickyAnn has grown from a lifelong love of creating things with my hands. Which is turning into something new everyday. It's a journey…won't you join me?

Leave a Reply

