Burnt Finger in the Snow

Greetings from my Workbench. In prepping for the big snow storm Virginia got last week, having a blah kind of week and trying to get back to our normal routine I have gotten behind in my posting. For that I am sorry friends. The snow sort of shut things down around here…well at least in our house for a few days. I am sure in many homes across other parts of Virginia has well.

               Moving on…I mentioned in my last post (It’s My Born Day http://wp.me/p4hctG-19) about starting the process of learning to solder. So after that lesson during the class I am taking I decided it was time to break out the soldering iron I purchased about two months ago. Break it out I did. I designed this ring I was going to gift my hubs with for Valentine’s Day and set out to make it.

               Soldering irons get HOT! Hello, right they are made to heat and melt metal. So I am holding this 14 gauge silver plated copper wire in my left hand and the soldering iron in my right. The wire begins to get hot, so I am gently reminded to make other arrangements. Then I put it down and pick up my flat nose pliers to hold the wire…mind you it has been formed into this perfect circle. I am applying the solder but it’s not holding…I put the soldering iron down and grab the nearest pliers. The nearest pliers were my brand new nylon tip pliers I got for my birthday…yeah they have melt marks in then now! L I then went to pick the soldering iron back up to finish what I was doing. I grabbed it past the handle. WOW! Really?! That’s HOT! Those were pretty much my exact thoughts in that moment.

Image
My first attempt at soldering. Not perfect…but not too bad!

               The ring is finished…I am happy with it. I took it to class this past week and my teacher gave me some great fed back. She has this way of pointing out everything you are doing right and then having an entire class on what proper technique is for what you need work on without making you…well me anyway, feel like I am being put down or criticized. In fact I am challenged, enlightened and encouraged in a way I believe students should leave the classroom! She turned the lesson (maybe it was her plan all along, maybe it wasn’t) into ring shank making…changed my world! I have not stopped sketching and designing all of the rings I am going to make. I am so very excited!

               Now friends that is where my journey has taken me over the last week…sorry if you have felt abandoned. I have missed being here and present. But I am back. My workbench is wonderfully cluttered with all that I have been working on. My etsy shop has new things that have been added. And all is going well in my sphere. I hope the same can be said about yours. Until next time.

Big Love,

Randi

Author: createmickyann

MickyAnn has grown from a lifelong love of creating things with my hands. Which is turning into something new everyday. It's a journey…won't you join me?

Leave a Reply

