Torch Solder and Jumping Rings

Greetings from my workbench! I hope, as you read this you are well and feeling at peace with your direction. I am looking at this document thinking about how to put into words what is in my brain space.

             I will start with jump rings…they may just be the end of my jewelry making career before it even truly gets off the ground. I have a couple of awesome pendent/charm pieces I have riveted and then designed chains for. Last Thursday night I began making coils and attempting to cut jump rings. After spending 45 minutes working on them I gave up for the night. They were not coming out even and it was getting my pressure up. It was Saturday before I cut anything else, however, when I picked up my saw checked the blade and began cutting into the sheet of metal I had sketched a ring design on it broke. Almost as soon as I attempted the first cut. I reached for another blade processed to attach it to the saw and it dawned on me…the whole time I was cutting jump rings two days prior the blade was on upside down. It is a wonder I cut through any wire at all. At least now maybe my next attempt at cutting jump rings will not result in my pressure going up.

Image
There she is! The first of what I hope will become many many soldered rings.

            You will be please to learn that I finally crossed the hurdle of the torch and soldering my first ring. As in everything I am learning it is going to take a lot of practice…but I am excited to have gotten over the nervous and can move on.  I spent my whole class period Sunday prepping and shaping my ring. Then to the torch bench I went. I am really looking forward to designing more pieces and practicing. I only have two classes left. That fact makes my very sad. Working with Ginny, as been the greatest gift of the last few months for me potential career wise. She has taught me so much about craftsmanship, the business side and creativity. I just hope I can do her wisdom justice.

            Un-jewelry related I have had two interviews for “real” jobs. Jobs that would make my mother happy. Jobs would actually give me a paycheck, instead of having amazing product that is not moving just yet. Jobs that would take me away from my home, my workbench and leave less hours each day and week to work on my craft. Not to mention less hours at home with my mini cave-girl. On the bright side I have had two interviews. I will possibly be able to lighten the stress load on my hubs…I want and need to do that. He has been so incredible taking wonderful care of mini cave-girl and I over the last six months. Then there is the downside of less time at my bench. I am going to have to learn to balance…I have shows scheduled and I am not giving up on this dream. Not even a little bit.

            So until next we meet at the workbench…keep creating, enjoy your moments and keep your chin up. As always thank you for stopping by and for being on this journey with me.

Big Love,                                                                                                                                                                                                 Randi 

Author: createmickyann

MickyAnn has grown from a lifelong love of creating things with my hands. Which is turning into something new everyday. It's a journey…won't you join me?

Leave a Reply

