A few skills goes a long way

Greetings from my workbench! The weather in Virginia is causing me whiplash…I was wearing flip-flops a week ago. Then it snows again today. Growing up here and I am not really surprised by this…but at this point in my life I find it annoying. I will say today’s snow day was very nice because the mini cave-girl, hubs and I got to just hang out. We needed a day like that. 

            I have been designing some new bracelets and necklaces for the shop. I love the way they are coming out. I am finding I am not much of a sketch it out then attempt to create the sketch kind of girl. No, I just sit down at my bench and start doing stuff and hope it works. Lately it has been working. 

            I started with some jump rings in a couple of different sized. Then I decided it didn’t a little something else so I grab my box of beads. I made, I am not sure the proper term, bead charms. I started laying them out in the pattern I thought I would like…different combinations of big jump ring, little jump ring, little jump ring, big jump ring, bead and some on. Once I found the pattern I liked best I connected them. After I had completed a few bracelets I thought, “Why won’t this work for a necklace?” So what did I do?! I made a necklace. Mind blown! Hahaha

          Once you get a skill or two under your belt the direction you can go in when creating becomes inexhaustible. At least for me I am finding a confidence at my bench that I do not think I had before taking a class and learning actual jewelry making skills. There is so much more I have to learn, but now I have good base to go from.  Ginny, the woman teaching the class is someone I hope to remain in contact with for years to come. The little things she suggests with a piece I am working. Or techniques it would take me years and years to learn…she throws them at me and I am just soaking them up.  I’m going to go practice some of them now. As always thank you for stopping by and for being on this journey with me.

Big Love,

Randi

Author: createmickyann

MickyAnn has grown from a lifelong love of creating things with my hands. Which is turning into something new everyday. It's a journey…won't you join me?

Leave a Reply

