Updated Journey

Greetings Friends!

           Where in the world has time gone? I have gotten so behind on posting. I do not even know where to begin on sharing my journey with you. I believe it best to offer an update on most of my sharing’s from 6 weeks ago…I will start with my little brother. He was the one in the car accident. He is gong so very well. Broke quite a few bones but all are healing well. He is just ready to get back to normal routine.

         I began attending a new farmer’s market that was trying to get off the ground. It was going great for me. Each week I attended I sold jewelry, I met some great people and even had folks starting to look for me. That is so exciting. But turned out to be shorted lived, due to their lack of following the rules. Lesson learned.

         My site management position is going well. It is all quite new to me and very different than anything I have ever done. However, I am getting the hang of it. That is really all there is to say about it.

         Most recent vendor show adventures took place this past Friday and Saturday in Altavista, Virginia. A wonderful local event that has been around for 65 years. I felt honored to participate as I drove towards Altavista with my now 4 year old mini cave-girl and friend. As I drove away Saturday night all I felt was discouragement, hurt, rejection and frustration. I will explain those emotions. See this event boast a draw of 20,000 plus visitors each year. So I spent two weeks (beacause I got my application in late and thus my approval late I only has two weeks to prepare) freaking out about not having enough inventory. I spent every waking moment I had that I not driving to work, at work or giving mini cave-girl my undivided attention making pieces for this show. I still was worried about inventory when I arrived on Friday but figured I could take custom orders and go from there. Then…drum roll please…I sold 2…count them TWO pieces of jewelry the whole weekend. L The event staff guy came by my table before I left and asked how my weekend was. And I shared my frustrations, 1. Be placed beside a veteran jewelry vendor who has been doing this show for 20 years. 2. Only selling at that point 1 piece. His response was “Your story is the worse I’ve heard all day”. Well, Thank you Fella that makes me feel so very much better.

         I am going to take today and be sad. Then tomorrow and I going to pick myself up like I always do and prepare for next weekend. So until next we meet at the workbench…keep creating, enjoy your moments and keep your chin up. As always thank you for stopping by and for being on this journey with me.

Big Love,

Randi

Author: createmickyann

MickyAnn has grown from a lifelong love of creating things with my hands. Which is turning into something new everyday. It's a journey…won't you join me?

Leave a Reply

